Relearning old skills

In March I had a brain malfunction (the experts are still undecided about what it was; stroke, seizures, TIA) which has left a number of challenging gaps.  I keep discovering things that are either missing from my memory and / or  my skill base such as no longer remembering any colour theory.

My machining skills have also been affected by sight issues. So as the mantra says practice, practice, practice.  To this end I have been making cords on the machine. They have proven good for my fine motor skills, machining and concentration.  Most of what you see below are destined for future pieces, some that may appear incorporated into pieces at the 2015 extratexture exhibition.

I think I first saw these cords on Sue Bleiweiss website suebleiweiss.com/freeprojects/machinecord.pdf

Then a while ago I did a class with Carol Wilkes from Maleny, Queensland (sorry her website seems to be inactive) and now enjoy incorporating them into my textile practice.  They make great hands for bags too!

 

DSCN3334

This entry was posted in extraTexture, Kerry, textile art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

